European Seismological Commission


Welcome to the ESC web site

 Forthcoming events:

The 35th General Assembly of the ESC 2016

The next ESC meeting will be held in Trieste (Italy) from the 4th to 10th of September. This will be the 35th General Assembly. The LOC, the National Institute of Oceanography and Experimental Geophysics (OGS), is glad to invite seismologists, geologists and engineers to attend. The deadline for abstract submission was the 7th of May. The Early Bird fee of registration will close on the 31st of May. Please note that at least one author of each submitted abstract is expected to register by this date.

The Young Seismologists' Training Course will take place during the preceding week in the vicinity of the city centre. The course is dedicated to Peter Bormann.

 ESC2016 logo

For more information visit

or click here.


Gennady SobolevGennady Sobolev
April 7, 2015 marked 80 years since the birth of Gennady Sobolev, former President of the European Seismological Commission (1994-1998), a famous scientist in the field of seismology, physics of the earthquake source and earthquake prediction.

Sadly we announce the loss of beloved friends and colleagues:

Urmas Luosto
Victor Kuksenko
Ragnar Sigbjörnsson
Erik Hjortenberg
Georgios Stavrakakis
Peter Bormann
Betim Muço
Torild van Eck


blog on the L'Aquila Appeal trial in Italy.
The last hearing took place on 10 November 2014.