European Seismological Commission

Current Executive Committee

President: Ina Cecic, Slovenia, ina.cecic (at)

Vice-President: Sebastiano D'Amico, Malta, sebastiano.damico (at)

Past-President: Wolfgang Lenhardt, Austria, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Secretary General: Stefano Parolai, Germany, parolai (at)

Assistant Secretary: Päivi Mäntyniemi, Finland, paivi.mantyniemi (at)

Additional ExeCom Members:

Zuzana Jechumtálová, Czech Republic, zuzana.jechumtalova (at)

Maria-Jose Jimenez, Spain, mj.jimenez (at)

Adrien Oth, Luxembourg, adrien.oth (at)

Member by right:

International Association of Seismology and Physics of the Earth's Interior (IASPEI),

IASPEI: Johannes Schweitzer, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.,

Other Members of the Executive:

The European-Mediterranean Seismological Centre (EMSC), the European Association for Earthquake Engineering (EAEE), the Observatories and Research Facilities for European Seismology (ORFEUS), and the Asian Seismological Commission (ASC) can be represented in the Executive Committee by one delegate each, provided that ESC is also represented in their ruling bodies. They take part in the discussions, and shall have power of voting provided there is reciprocity.

ASC: Gari Gibson / Rajender Chadha

EAEE: Zygmunt Lubkowski, zygi.lubkowski (at),

EMSC: Rémy Bossu, bossu (at),

ORFEUS: Bernard Dost, dost (at),



From the Working Groups:

The FAULT2SHA Working Group, formally approved by the European Seismological Commission, at the 35th General Assembly in Sept 2016, promotes a new initiative, open to all researchers interested in contributing to discussions on topics that could improve the assessment of seismic hazard.

Futher information is available here.

If you would like to join the Fault2SHA WG, follow this link.

First announcement:

ESC WG Fault2SHA 3rd Workshop: Role of scaling laws and fault interaction

Barcelonnette (F), May 2-4, 2017

The workshop is financially supported by the CEREGE (F), IRSN (F) and OGS (I).

FURTHER INFORMATION can be found here


The Working Group on Induced Seismicity is organizing as its second activity a special session 'Induced Seismicity - The European Perspective' at the annual meeting of the SSA. Please have a look at Forthcoming events. 


What were the past General Assemblies of the ESC like? Find out! Interesting documentation has been made easily accessible.

This list summarizes the files.


Sadly we announce the loss of esteemed and beloved colleagues and friends:


blog on the L'Aquila Appeal trial in Italy.
The last hearing took place on 10 November 2014.